Attention All Fishermen Bass, Crappie!!!!

Discussion in 'LOCAL OHIO TALK' started by catfishrollo, Jun 27, 2008.

1. catfishrollo

catfishrollo New Member

State:
    Ohio
    Attention all fishermen, bass, crappie, bluegill, cats, etc.!!!! This is a little different post for me, but would like to talk alittle about how fishermen drown each year. I have been fishing for many years on a river that is very dangerous at times, and sometimes even more dangerous than most rapid people pay money for to tube with an experienced guide! You add debis to fast current and you have an unsceen problem! You darkness to the equation, another problem! You add those with someone not real familiar in the fog, NOT GOOD! This is why I preach daytime scouting before a night trip. Not saying even the most experienced locals can't have a problem including myself, but it is essential for safety! Fishermen drown each year from a variety of ways... High water, year after year is a contibuting factor. Not all fishermen that drown are older fellows, drunk, or people with health conditions, or can't swim! People that swim great, in shape, and sober die every day from the simple flow of water! I myself have had to be helped back in a boat before in area I thought was semi-safe! Lets not confine this to strictly river fishing either. People drown in a few feet of water every year also in such places like private ponds, strip ponds, small lakes, streams etc. One thing most people overlook esp. when fishing, or for recreational purposes in ponds etc. is these often have some sort of aquatic grass or algae growing in them in the warm water months! Grass and algae when swimming or a float tube fisherman can be very dangerous. This stuff is thick enough, most of the time you can't shake free of often becoming more worse the more you fight it:wink:.. Most people don't consider a clean looking area to swim a problem, but after that there is one... I'm looking forward to some other positive posts from t