Attaching leaders to juglines?

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by Bubbatn, Aug 17, 2007.

1. Bubbatn

Bubbatn New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    Hi guys, I'm new to the site. I've been planning a fishing trip this week and we're going tonight. I just got the thought yesterday that i'd like to try to put out some jugs too. I'm going today to get a noodle and pvc pipe and i've read on how to hook everything up. This is my first time using jugs, so i'm only gonna put out maybe 5 or so just to get the feel for it until I have more time to "fine-tune" some better more efficient rigs.

The only thing i'm wondering about now is that i'm not quite sure what the depth of the water is we'll be fishing at tonight. I was just curious what the easiest way to attach my leaders onto my main line after I figure out what depth I need to set everything at? I tried searching, but couldnt quite seem to find my answer. I'm probably gonna be using a high test mono for the leaders. Is there a knot I can use to tie them onto my main line after we get on the water that wont be too much hassle? It seems most people use dropper loops in their main lines, but again...i'm not quite sure what depth i'll need to be at and at the moment, I kinda would like a quicker way than tieing multiple loops all the way down my main lines(again....lack of planning ahead of time).

I'd appreciate it if anyone could help me out.

2. TDawgNOk

TDawgNOk Gathering Monitor (Instigator)

State:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    quick and easy way is to tie your dropper leaders as a loop. Then you can slip 1 end through the loop on the main line, push the hook through that loop, and pull tight. Quick, and no actual knot to mess with.

Also check out the following BOC sponsor for some of the best clips to clip that leader onto the main line EZ Clip

3. jtrew

jtrew New Member

State:
    Little Rock, AR