At a Bridge pillar should I fish in front (upstream side) or Behind (down stream)?

Discussion in 'INDIANA RIVERS TALK' started by Wallbass, Apr 13, 2009.

1. Wallbass

Wallbass New Member

State:
    Indiana
    Im new at river cattin and gonna try more this year. At a Bridge pillar should I fish in front (upstream side) or Behind (down stream) side ?? And what about the water on the sides ?? Tell me your best way :wink:
    Thanks Jeff :smile2:

2. DANNYfrmINDY

DANNYfrmINDY New Member

State:
    Martinsville, Indiana
    For me I have always fished from the side, putting my bait at the start of the pillar (upstream) and letting it drift towards the back (downstream). I was told when i was younger that the cats like to stay behind the pillars (downstream) in the slower water and wait for something to fall in to the slow water. Granted all i have ever fished for is flats and channels. Not to many blues around me. I hope this helps.

3. Netmanjack

Netmanjack New Member

State:
    Ohio
    If there is one in there Jeff he will be on the back side facing toward the current. Depending how fast the water moves there will be a hole swept out. The hole could be right at the base or twenty yards down stream depending on current speed and water depth. Good luck...........

4. metalman

metalman Well-Known Member

State:
    IN
    Name:
    Winston
    Drop the bait in front with the absolute minimum amount of weight (none if possible)needed to keep it down.
    Tease it around the pillar without pulling it away. Work the bait along the pillar with a very small lifts and drops. Let it go all the way around the back of the pillar and then work it downstream a good ways. If there is a cat there he will know the bait is coming. Work both sides of the pillar in the same way.
    ...W

5. Mickey

Mickey New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Illinois
    I agree with Winston on this one. Very effective method.

6. GaryF

GaryF New Member

State:
    O.P., KS