Anyone use blacklights?

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by thunderchicken, Oct 10, 2006.

1. thunderchicken

thunderchicken New Member

State:
    Yuma Az
    I was wondering if anyone uses a blacklight to fish for cats at night? I have heard that they make mono look like rope under their light. Would sure help in the summer time when it can get pretty buggy. Thanks.
    :cool2:

2. gater460

gater460 New Member

State:
    eldon,mo
    ive been using them for about 7 8 years and wouldnt go at night with out them.

3. LiquidSteel

LiquidSteel New Member

State:
    La Vista N
    Ive been curious about black lights for fishing too. Do you have to have a special fishing line for it to work? I usually just bells but I like to be able to see what my poles are doing too.

Thanks for the info!

Tight lines to ya!

4. trnsmsn

trnsmsn New Member

State:
    Missouri Originally Now I
    Yes, I use them frequently, they work well with slaor collector green Big Game line. I just painted my rod tips with some flourescent paint made for model cars etc. The bottle is small & easily kept in your tackle box.

The best part is............NO BUGS:big_smile:

5. BigB

BigB New Member

State:
    Van Buren, Arkansas
    i tried it this summer. worked great for seeing poles and line, but didn't help with the bugs very well.

6. flatheadhunterx

flatheadhunterx Active Member

State:
    South Carolina
    i have thought about blacklights a time or 2 but i like fishing in the dark while catfishing.

7. kat in the hat

kat in the hat New Member

State:
    Missouri
    I threw away all of my fuzzy Zepplin and Sabbath posters about 15 years ago. Now I know what to do with my black light.

8. trnsmsn

trnsmsn New Member

State:

I Use The Ones made by U-Lite,Maybe the same manufacture, just under a different name.They are exactly as you described yours to the "T"

9. slimepig

slimepig New Member

State:
    Kerrville Texas
    how many amps do these lights draw an hour?