The United States Catfish Association Forum and Community banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking to get some rod holders for my boat - has anyone tried these?

Does anyone use a clamp on style? If so, which ones?
\
Looking for inexpensive at the moment due to wanting to put 6 in right away. I would love to put Monster holders in right away, but will more than likely just do 1 at a time going forward as replacements.

https://www.amazon.com/Driftmaster-100-H-Holder-Thread-Finish/dp/B0000AZ8ZL/ref=sr_1_3?dchild=1&fst=as:eek:ff&keywords=rod+holders&qid=1600879622&refinements=p_89:Driftmaster&rnid=2528832011&s=sporting-goods&sr=1-3

·
Registered
Winston, Indiana
4,127 Posts
Jason,
I have no experience with clamp-on rod holders but Driftmaster make a good product. Something to be aware of is that the 100H is a 3/8” thread and so will require a 3/8” base. The 3/8 holders are pretty stout but have been known to bend under extreme load so if you ultimately intend to go with 1/2” Monsters, you will need 1/2” bases too.
It might be worth putting a want ad in the buy/sell section as guys are always upgrading stuff.

...W

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Jason,
I have no experience with clamp-on rod holders but Driftmaster make a good product. Something to be aware of is that the 100H is a 3/8” thread and so will require a 3/8” base. The 3/8 holders are pretty stout but have been known to bend under extreme load so if you ultimately intend to go with 1/2” Monsters, you will need 1/2” bases too.
It might be worth putting a want ad in the buy/sell section as guys are always upgrading stuff.

...W
Thanks! I hadn't thought about having to upgrade the base as well.......

·
Premium Member
Bill. South Dakota
1,867 Posts
Got the driftmaster duel levels on mine. 1/2inchers. 2 of 5/35, two of 33/45. Mounted to rack across back. Got room for more but donr need them here.

·
Premium Member
Southeast mo Mississippi river
554 Posts