Anyone trap Bobcats?

Discussion in 'Trapping & Fur Taking' started by DIESELkat, Sep 28, 2008.

1. DIESELkat

DIESELkat New Member

State:
    PA
    A friend of mine just drew a coveted bobcat permit here in PA. I have no experience trapping them and was wondering if anyone had any advice. We will most likely be setting traps and then setting up and doing some calling and hope for the best.

2. RetiredToFish

RetiredToFish New Member

State:
    Newark, Ohio
    We don't have a Bobcat season here in Ohio ... That is about the only thing that hasn't moved in here and taken over .... I do have a friend that goes somewhere in the lower midwest every year to trap cats and have heard him talk about using mostly a cubby set ... can't help you much more than that ... Garry-

3. primitivefrn

primitivefrn Member

State:
    collins mo
    FFG has had some articles on trapping them. and I would get a book on cat trapping, have caught a few, your area will be some different, do to weather.
    check wit your state trapping ass. they are one of the largest and I'm sure they would be of help.
    JIM

4. 223reload

223reload New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    Justin,I havn't trapped cats in years,But I can give oyu some general tips on them,First ,Like all cats they are curious If its legal hanging a turkey feather near the set will get them close enough that a call or gland lure will get them in the set. The second thing I found after years of trapping them is ,They are roamers,Thier terretories are big and if you find fresh sign,set near it ,but expect to wait up to 10 days for the cat to return and check it out. Other than that about any set used for fox or coyote will get them,using cat lure of course.

5. CountryHart

CountryHart New Member

State:
    missouri
    If it's legal there a road killed deer will catch em too. Just be sure and put it under a cedar or rock overhang so hawks or worse yet an eagle don't get in your set.

6. DIESELkat

DIESELkat New Member