Anyone ever used the abu garcia bg9000?

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by jugliner, Dec 3, 2007.

1. jugliner

jugliner New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    I am new to the big cat rode fishing but, am trying to get my facts. So if you can respond to any of my ???? I will be thankfull. Don
    1. what line do you sugest lbs brand
    2. What rod length make ect...
    3. line rigging ect..
    4. bait sugg..
    5. depth aver..

2. jason454ci

jason454ci Active Member

State:
    Zanesville, Ohi
    I have had a BG 9000 for a year now and must say I don't have any complaints about it. As far as your other questions a little more info would really help out. What kind of fish are you targeting, lake or river, bank or boat?

3. Catcaller

Catcaller New Member

State:
    SoutheastKansas
    Never tried the BG 9000 specifically...but I do have several other models...and IMO ya can't go wrong with Abu.

More specific questions regarding where/when/what you'll be fishing for perhaps would help you out in the responses you'll get....and how they relate to what you're wanting to know.

In the meantime...you're stuck with what I give ya...Lol.

I primarily fish a shallow rocky river mostly for flathead and blue cats which routinely exceed 40 lb...but average more like 10-20 lb.

For this I in general typically use 18 lb diameter/65 lb test Power Pro braid line....or Trilene Big Game 20-50 lb monofilament. (Depends on the specific application)

As a general rule...the smaller the diameter...the better and longer it will cast. If tensile strength is a major concern like it is here...then go with the braid due to its smaller diameter and higher tensile strength comparable to the diameter of mono.

However...if abrasion resistance is a must...and you dont have to cast very far...mono is superior to braid when it comes to resisting the nicks, cuts, and scrapes that rocks, stumps, logs, and brush dish out.

As far as rod length...that too depends on the application.