Anyone catfished in Brazil, South America?

Discussion in 'SOUTH AMERICAN CATFISH' started by dusky, Dec 5, 2006.

1. dusky

dusky Member

State:
    indiana
    I'm going to vacation in Brazil for a couple weeks in February, and I was wondering if any BOC members have catfished down there. It would be great to get into a big redtail or piraiba. After looking through the BOC posts in "South America" catfishing, I'm even more excited than I was before, which is hard to beat!

2. spanishcatman

spanishcatman New Member

State:
    United Kingdom
    I've no experience and no advice to give I'm afraid Dusky. But a friend of mine fished for red-tails 2 years back and he had a great time! He said that pound for pound, they really scrap. I wish you all the luck there is - and to a man from Europe, exploring the rivers of South America sounds like a real experience. Post pictures!

3. Pastor E

Pastor E New Member

State:
    Beebe AR
    Oh Man you must be doing something right :big_smile:

4. Flatheadhunter33

Flatheadhunter33 New Member

State:
    Yuma, Arizona
    I've only fished there in my dreams bro:still_dreaming: :still_dreaming: :still_dreaming: :feel_good: .
    I hope that your trip is a good one as well as safe!

5. jholl949

jholl949 New Member

State:
    Mannford. Oklah
    OK!!! I'm jealous!!
    Seriously, though, Dusty, have a great time, take LOTS of pictures, catch lots of fish, and come back to the BOC safely.
    GOD bless.

6. P. nasuta

P. nasuta New Member

State:
    Louisiana
    Hi Dusky,

I've been to Brazil a couple of times but did not have the chance to fish so I can not help with personal information. However, Larry Dahlberg did several of his "Hunt for Big Fish" on catfish in Brazil and other South American countries, there maybe some information available on his website.

The food is fantastic in Brazil, I ate all kinds of the local food. While you are there visit a Churrasco (Brazillian Barbarque place), its great.

Where will you be?