Any good places to get an Outboard Motor Serviced? --> IN So. Cal.

Discussion in 'LOCAL CALIFORNIA TALK' started by jkim546, Oct 20, 2008.

1. jkim546

jkim546 New Member

State:
    Southern California
    Hey guys,

was wondering if any of you boat owners knew of some Southern California shops to get an outboard motor serviced.

I recently purchased a boat and motor.
    The motor is a Mercury 2 stroke 7.5hp.

I called a few places and got quoted anywhere from $180-$500.

I'm pretty new to boating so any advice or direction is appreciated. Thanks!

2. Wvawitrado

Wvawitrado New Member

State:
    California, Fresno
    Routine service or maintenance?

3. jkim546

jkim546 New Member

State:
    Southern California
    I believe it is "annual maintenence".

When i bought it, it fired right up. He said he didnt use it for a while and that i should take it in to a shop and get it serviced and the water pump and stuff changed "just incase".

4. Wvawitrado

Wvawitrado New Member

State:
    California, Fresno
    Yeah you should get the impeller and lubricants redone....I cant help you too much the location I was thinking is too far from you but "bi-annual maintenance" Is what I think its supposed to be but the work involved is pretty easy so if you find a nice clean shop that you feel good about it should be alright with this type of service IMO maybe someone like gilmafam plumbertom could help you out also with a reliable location brother sorry I couldnt be more of help

5. jkim546

jkim546 New Member

State:
    Southern California
    thanks man, like i said, any advice is good advice to me right now... thanks for taking the time bro...

6. tofish

tofish New Member

State:
    arizona
    southern ca is a large area. can you be a little more specific? think i might know a few down from vista down, and one guy that's a whiz that does house calls if doesn't have to drive too far.
    gary

7. jkim546

jkim546 New Member

State:
    Southern California