any body fish for halibut

Discussion in 'Salt Water Fishing' started by montgomery#1, Jan 10, 2008.

1. montgomery#1

montgomery#1 New Member

State:
    ogden utah
    any body fish for halibut in alaska or canada. any replys would be nice.thanks in advance.

2. Big Dav

Big Dav New Member

State:
    Southwest
    I have fished for them in Alaska a couple of times. We have caught them out of the Ketchikan Area and the Homer area/Cooks Inlet (on separate trips). Man now that is a battle to say the least. You never know what you are going to pull up off the bottom. Could be 10 pounds and it could be over a hundred. The largest one I caught was between 80-90 pounds.
    Some of the best tasting fish in the world. A little Krustys pancake batter and a can of beer. YUM, beer batter Halibut.:still_dreaming:
    What were you wanting to know? I am by no means an expert on them but I have caught several of them.

Thanks
    David

3. montgomery#1

montgomery#1 New Member

State:
    ogden utah
    im just wnating to share some experiences. i went to cordova about a 30 minute plain ride from ketchikan. ive only caught them on light tackle none on a normal rod you would use on halibut. the 2 i caught were only 30-35# and man did they fight. i was using my salmon rig with a squid jig. they would take the line off as soon as you would gain it back. what about salmon have you ever caught silvers or kings. ive caught coho (silver) and chums (pinks).

4. Big Dav

Big Dav New Member

State:
    Southwest