any body catch gills on the fly.

Discussion in 'Bluegill Fishing' started by montgomery#1, Jan 15, 2008.

1. montgomery#1

montgomery#1 New Member

State:
    ogden utah
    has any body caught bluegill on flys or anythin of that sort any tips would be much appreciated. thanks in advance.

2. 223reload

223reload New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    I've caught a lot on the 1/100 oz trout flies and 'black ant patterns

3. montgomery#1

montgomery#1 New Member

State:
    ogden utah
    thanks for the help im just getting into fly fishing and work my way to bass and stripers out in powle. thanks.

4. tomflatcat

tomflatcat New Member

State:
    Hampstead, NC
    I don't fly fish but I know some that does really well catching bluegill and bass fly fishing. He fishes the local golf course ponds.

5. ratkinson

ratkinson New Member

State:
    NY
    I get up in the shallows and pound the gills, and perch on many different patterns of flies.

6. Ruger 454

Ruger 454 Member

State:
    LaGrange Kentucky
    Hard to beat a foam spider or a scud.Good luck and have fun!!!!

7. Pirate Jerry

Pirate Jerry New Member

State:
    Yulee Florida
    Three flys recommended for gills.
    #1 Black Gnat
    #2 Black Gnat
    #3 Black Gnat

8. cathouse

cathouse New Member

State:
    NY
    been doing it for years but with a casting bubble ( the ones that can be filled with water small sized ) and a ultra light spinning rod .

9. ozzy

ozzy New Member

State:
    Lost Wages
    Ill get them on a small fly witha gold bead, not sure what there called, maybe a Black Gnat, not sure.

10. channelcathunter64

channelcathunter64 New Member

State:
    tennessee
    in the spring when the mayflies hatch i use a mayfly pattern and in summer i use a cricket pattern

11. SSgt Fishslayer

SSgt Fishslayer New Member

State:
    south carolina