Another rookie question

Discussion in 'ARKANSAS RIVERS TALK' started by rookie cat, Jun 21, 2009.

1. rookie cat

rookie cat New Member

State:
    ok
    Ok guys i am fairly new to all of this. I have had some luck the last 3 weekends fishing a small crrek that runs into the river. The channel part of the creek is about 4-6 feet and a flat offf the channel is 2-4 feet depending on river level. I was catching some descent channels off this flat. My question is the water temp according to my depth finder is saying 90 degrees, Will these fish move out of this creek into the main river or will they stay up in this creek? What is some tactics for the hot summer time? What are the patterns of these fish when it gets hot like this. Thanks for the help just trying to learn all I can and you guys got the knowledge. Thanks, Kyle

2. whisker maniac

whisker maniac New Member

State:
    arkansas
    Kyle,

As the surface temp gets hotter the fish tend to go deeper. The one thing you have to remember is that our depth finder is only reading the surface temp., not the temp. deeper or at the depth where the fish are.

Depending on the depth of that creek where it joins the river and what the bait fish do will determine what the cats will do. Also current can have a factor in that equation. If there is a strong flow the water will stay cooler deeper than in still water and will also bring bait fish down the creek to the mouth where the cats have been hanging out. Although you may see a slow down in the bite during the day you may still be able to catch the cats there at night.

If the creek and mouth are shallow they may move in deeper up the creek where there may be a deeper pool plus shade from trees that will keep the water cooler or they may search for deeper water out in the river but probably wont' venture far if there is still a good supply of bait fish nearby.