another ? about circle hooks

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by hunterhnc20, Apr 23, 2008.

1. hunterhnc20

hunterhnc20 New Member

State:
    Buffalo, West V
    Hey guys, I've never used circle hooks before and you say the fish hook their selfs. Ok, what if am using a live 6 inch bluegill or just say a big piece of bait. Do you set the bait clicker so the fish can run to get the bait in their mouth and then turn the bait clicker off and let them pull the line tight so they hook their self or am I totally wrong? I think with a small piece of bait, you wouldn't set the bait clicker and when they hit the bait and pulled on it they would hook their selfs. Thanks for the help, Neal

2. metalman

metalman Well-Known Member

State:
    IN
    Name:
    Winston
    Neal,
    The bottom line with circles is not to set the hook like you would with a J hook and just to let the rod and line load up.
    You can let them run on the clicker or you can leave the reel in gear and use a sturdy rod holder but if you use the clicker and let them run and they are peeling off line at 100mph engaging the reel often has the same effect as a conventional hook set in that the sudden jerk on the line pulls the hook out of their mouths.
    If they are running away like a rocket I find it is better to thumb the spool to put a little tension in the line before engaging the reel.
    Hope that helps...W

3. ChannelCatBen

ChannelCatBen New Member

State:
    Minnesota
    I love circles for cutbait, but I almost never use them for live baits. I used to, but every bullhead I cast out would come back with the hook point buried in its side. So it's big ol' J-hooks for that application.

It might be different using 'gills, but since we can't do that in MN, I wouldn't know. I suppose it all depends on the size of the bait in relation to the size of the hook.

4. russ

russ New Member

State:
    dexter. mo