Anchors

Discussion in 'VIRGINIA RIVERS TALK' started by DanMan, Nov 7, 2007.

1. DanMan

DanMan New Member

State:
    VA
    Just wondering what type and how heavy the anchors are you guys use. I'm new to the river thing only fished lakes before. I have 2 20lbs river anchors with 100' of rope for each. Should that do the trick for my size boat?(21' cc) Also any tips on how to anchor in the river would be great. like I said I'm a lake guy so something that might seem common knowledge to you might not be to me so any and all tips are a big help. Thanks guys :big_smile:

2. stumpjumper

stumpjumper New Member

State:
    Dallas, GA
    Russell:

One thing that is critical for anchoring in rivers is to decrease the angle between the anchor and the boat. So you will want to go aways upriver, anchor and allow the boat to drift back to the spot. Many times I will use all 100 feet to accomplish this, depending on the current. As far as the type/weight of the anchor, I guess everyone has their own preference. My boat is aluminum so I can get away with a homemade 30# on the bow. But, there are all different types (richtor, etc.) that will also do the job. Good luck and nice boat!

3. Ketch

Ketch New Member

State:
    Minnesota
    Here is one of the 2 20# anchors I use. I also go quite a way upstream and drift into position to decrease the angle of the anchor. Most times, 1 anchor is enough for me, unless there is high water.

Attached Files:

4. jim

jim New Member

State:
    Jacksonville NC