Anchoring techniques

Discussion in 'Boating' started by great pappy cat, Jul 24, 2007.

1. great pappy cat

great pappy cat Active Member

State:
    P.A
    I read some where that anchoring techniques set good cat men apart from mediocer ones.I thought id see how every one else does it.personaly i anchor from the bow then drop a rear anchor strait down from the stern to keep from swaying.Its hard to get to a very precise location because youve got to guess how far up to drop the anchor then you dont know where it will grab.I purchased some maker bouys that i hope will help.

2. BassMassey

BassMassey Well-Known Member

State:
    Oconee
    I'm kinda new to fising from a boat, and would love to see some good advice on here. First two times out though I've been doing pretty much what you said. I drop one off the bow, then once i have it set i adjust the rear with the trolling motor then drop the back anchor. First two times out so far i've been skunked as im still learning the lake.

3. BIG GEORGE

BIG GEORGE New Member

State:
    JOISY
    I use a 20lb. river anchor from the front. Drop it straight down and let out plenty of rope so it digs in properly. I do not use a second anchor. The reason bein that the wake from ship and large tug traffic is very,very large. Don't wanna wind up on my side or flipped completely. A good drift sock pretty much eliminates the sway that will drive ya nuts. LOL!

4. metalman

metalman Well-Known Member

State:
    IN
    Name:
    Winston
    The following technique is by far the best method of still water anchoring I have found:
    Firstly you will need two good anchors that will dig into the bottom. A length of chain between the anchor and the rope will make your hook-ups much more consistent. Each anchor will have at least 150 feet of rope, I prefer 200.
    Use a marker buoy to show where you want to end up.
    Motor directly up-wind of the buoy a distance equal to about half the length of your anchor rope.