An ideal fly fishing setup.

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing' started by Carp King, Feb 29, 2008.

1. Carp King

Carp King New Member

State:
    North carolina
    I want to Know where i can get a cheap fly rod outfit to start me off in fly fishing. I want to try to fly fish for carp and need a an affordable setup for my first try. Any Advice?

2. alpal16

alpal16 New Member

State:
    Philly, PA
    I am relatively new to fly fishing and haven't fished for carp, myself. But here are some thoughts. I would imagine you would need a pretty sturdy set-up for carp---something like a 6 wt rod. You can get some decent setups from Cabelas, Bass Pro or Dick's Sporting Goods for like $50-$60. They come all set (rod, reel, prespooled with backing and fly line). You might have to buy some tapered leaders, though. My first one was a 5-6wt 8ft rod, Cortland brand. I like it a lot. Good thing about these sizes are that they are pretty versatile---You can go for lots of species of fish with them. I go for panfish, trout, and bass. The length of the rod is something to think about IMO...if there is a lot of cover where you are fishing, a shorter length may be better. I am sure there are others that could give you some feedback on that.

I am interested in hearing about how you do. I have seen a lot of carp in the stream where i fish, but do not know what flies they like to eat.

Anyway---hope this helps and good luck!!

3. ozzy

ozzy New Member

State:
    Lost Wages
    I got mine at BPS. Its a Dogwood Canyon setup and I think I paid 80 bucks for it. It more than a beginner model, actually very nice setup. Came with the line also. Been very happy with it so far.

4. Zing

Zing New Member

State:
    Tennessee