American eels in kansas

Discussion in 'KANSAS RIVERS TALK' started by pabloracer4748, Oct 5, 2009.

1. pabloracer4748

pabloracer4748 New Member

State:
    Kansas
    Does anyone know where I might be able to catch an eel near Topeka Kansas. I am setting up a kansas native fish tank. That would look super cool in my tank. Thanks!:big_smile:

2. KansasKatCatcher

KansasKatCatcher Active Member

State:
    Kansas City, Ka
    What all fish do you plan on putting in your tank?What do you have so far?What size tank are you using.

I would try to fish for them like perch with a small hook and worm.Try some creeks.I think those fish are really hard to catch though.

3. LBM

LBM New Member

State:
    Prairie Village, Kansas
    I'm no expert at all on eels but I do know the for the life cycle of an eel they live in both fresh water and marine waters. Think they spawn in marine water and migrate up rivers where they feed and live until they get ready to spawn where they migrate down the rivers back into salt water for spawning.
    With all the dams on the rivers I'm not sure there are many left in our rivers this far inland anymore.
    As a youngster in Southeast Kansas in late 1940's or early 1950's I remember my father catching a eel in the Verdegris rives on limb lines.
    Again I could be all wet on this but it is an interesting subject.

Might check these out.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eel_life_history
    http://www.chesapeakebay.net/american_eel.htm

4. dafin

dafin New Member

State:
    Manhattan,Kan
    The only eel i heard of being caught was out of the Kansas river south of manhattan in 1987. I have never seen one .

5. warcraft1975

warcraft1975 New Member

come by lawrence and catch one they caught here every summer for as long as i can remember i saw one get caught this summer as a matter of fact. they just get dumped back in the water as most people dont want to touch them..lol i think the bowerstock is as far up river they can go