ambassadeur malfunction question

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by massa_jorge, May 21, 2008.

1. massa_jorge

massa_jorge New Member

State:
    TEXAS
    hey yall i have an ambassadeur 6500 d5 and a 5000 that both messed up on me on the same trip. the line guide (pawl?) hangs up on the bar it is sitting on and causes the line to reel in the exact same spot, causing some serious bird's nest issues. what is causing this? is the pawl worn out? how can i fix it? thanks!

2. Fishking

Fishking Member

State:
    KC, MO
    Name:
    Andrew
    The pawl is worn out, replace it and you should be good to go.

3. psychomekanik

psychomekanik New Member

State:
    Illinois
    Ditto. clean it up real good when you take it apart to fix it. the pawls wear out usually because of dirt in the worm gear. which is exposed. noone ever oils them between cleanings as they should. there is actually an oil hole on the back side of the pawl cap. a couple drops of lightweight oil really helps them last longer. they also make ceramic pawls now too! an awesome upgrade, but they have to be kept oiled....

4. Mark J

Mark J New Member

State:
    Four Oaks, NC
    I wouldnt replace just the pawl. Replace the worm gear at the same time because a worn worm gear shortens the life of a pawl.

Hit that gear with a little oil every outing and they'll last a long time.

5. massa_jorge

massa_jorge New Member

State:
    TEXAS
    i disassembled them and cleaned them last night. the d5 or ds or whatever the model is (the brass one) the pawl will move now, but not under pressure. i got it out and it definitely looks worn to hell. on the 5000 i got the pawl out and cleaned the heck out of it, the pawl didn't look bad at all. after reassembling it, it turns everything fine, even under pressure.