Alternatives to fishing poles

Discussion in 'ILLINOIS LAKES / RESERVOIRS TALK' started by mississippi man, May 3, 2006.

1. mississippi man

mississippi man New Member

State:
    Godfrey, Illino
    I know that a lot of you use other methods of fishing besides using poles. I am curious if any of you could give me some pointers on using fishing yo-yo's, limb lines, trot lines, or bank lines. When I fish for meat or go camping I would like to try some of these things this year. I've never done anything like these before and would like to try them. For example one thing I need help with for sure is a pointer on keeping my trot line straight after taking it out of the package. Do you tie all the hooks on before you leave to go and set it? On the yo-yo's do you attach more line than they come with and do you typically weight it or drift it? Please help all that I have ever used is a pole and a boat.

2. catfishkatmando

catfishkatmando New Member

State:
    Salem, WV.
    I wil take a shoot advice on limb lines . Use stout line with a swivel on a limber but resonable strong line ,use live bait like blue gils , set the line so that the livebail is just in the water this is usually a dinner bel for flatheads. If I was going after channels i would put a dead minnow on o near the bottom. SE YOU ON THE FISHBANK SOMETIME

3. Redtick

Redtick New Member

State:
    Neoga, Illinois
    Limb lines are illegal in Illinois. Bank poles and trotlines are not and are very effective ways to catch cats. Both topics are throughly covered in the library.

4. Driver

Driver New Member

State:
    Illinois
    I got more experience with the trotlines, so here goes...

First, I don't mess with the clip on/off droppers type lines. My lines all go right on the swivel. Take the main line out of the bag, tie it up between two trees or whatever and start tying on your droppers and hooks.