altamaha river

Discussion in 'GEORGIA RIVERS TALK' started by fearless58, Jun 15, 2009.

1. fearless58

fearless58 New Member

State:
    ga
    all right the river is coming down. i am ready to try this flathead fishing with rod and reel.i am new to this kinda i have allways bush hooked. but even that was along time ago.i need some tips or ideas on where and how to ancor and what kinda rigs work best. i know night is best but you can catch them during day right? i live in hinesville so if anyone wants to go and teach an old dog new tricks i am willing to learn.what does the river need to get down to?

2. ArmyCatfish

ArmyCatfish New Member

State:
    Georgia
    well fearless welcome to BOC and welcome to my favorite river. I live in hinesville as well and spend alot of time on the altamaha i put in at jaycees landing most times. the river is still very high and makes fishing slow but i am starting to finaly get into some fish ive been averaging one good flathead each night i go out and a couple smaller ones or channel cats.
    Im gonna start by trying to give a lil help. As far as rigging goes there are so many options defently use pyramid or some type of no roll sinker. for hooks a 5/0 circle is my favorite. 20-30lb test is more than enough most of the time. LIVE bait i repeat LIVE bait for flatheads weather you go out and catch yourself some bream which work great or buy yourself some goldfish. Goldfish can be bought at most bait shops including the one right there at Jaycees landing.
    Do you have a boat?
    Alright seeing as i could go on all day ill stop there for now and end with an open offer to go out one the river and show you around some.

3. fearless58

fearless58 New Member

State:
    ga
    i do have a boat. i also have apond slap full of bream.just really need some help on how to approach the river . i have spent alot of time on the river just fishing for other things. let me knopw i can go most any time

4. Fivebraids

Fivebraids New Member