Advice needed

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by Mikeinchandler, May 27, 2009.

1. Mikeinchandler

Mikeinchandler New Member

State:
    Az
    Hi to the group. I am new to the flatheading thing, and tomorrow night I'm heading to the upper salt river here in Az, and will try to catch my 1st flathead. I plan on using blue gill and waterdogs. However, what I need is advice on EXACTLY how to rig my gear. I have 2 deep sea fishing rods, and will have 30# mono on both of them. Please help....

2. centexcop

centexcop New Member

State:
    Texas
    Welcome to the BOC from Texas. I would try a Carolina rig set up with a small slip cork on your leader. Use an egg sinker, or whatever you may have, put on a bead or something to protect the knot, then tie on a swivel. I would then use a 12 to 18 inch leader with a slip cork about 6 inches from the hook.

Some people like to put the cork in the middle. The purpose of the cork is to suspend the bait just off the bottom. If you put it in the middle of your leader, the cork is going to rise and if you have the same amount of line on both sides of it, it is going to rest on the bottom. If you move it closer to the hook, the bait will rise that much. I my opinion this works for me.

3. s_man

s_man New Member

State:
    south east ohio
    Just start with the easiest, a carolina rig. Put a sinker on your main line, then a bead, tie on a swivel, then tie on your leader to the other end of the swivel. 10 to 15 inches is normal. then tie on your hook.

If you fish real rocky areas you might have to go to 3 way or modified-slip rigs. Which you can find with a general search. Good luck.

4. Swampfox.

Swampfox. New Member

State:
    Louisiana
    hey mike, there is a devildog down in yuma who fishes for flatheads alot, I'll send him a PM and hook him up with u he'll square u away on your flathead questions, he may even be able to put u on some fish.

5. Swampfox.

Swampfox. New Member

State:
    Louisiana