Advantech flooring

Discussion in 'Boat Modification Journal' started by CountryHart, Feb 21, 2009.

1. CountryHart

CountryHart New Member

State:
    missouri
    Has anyone ever used advantec for flooring in a boat? It comes with a 50 year warranty. Won't soak up water and isn't much heavier than reg. treated plywood. Cock pit of my bassboat got spongie and i have it removed, just need to put something back. Gonna coat it with dure-tuff from cabelas when i get all the carpet out of it.

2. DH84

DH84 New Member

State:
    Eastern NC
    i run commercial construction jobs for a living and we use alot of advantech in wood and metal framing flooring and its great stuff, however im not sure if its going to suit you for a boat floor. Although its very solid stuff and it does have a form of a wax coating on it, its still made of particle board just like OSB and i believe with prolonged exposure to moisture your going to run into it getting soft on you. It would prob hold up fine with a good coating of paint for a year or so, but i forsee longterm problems.

Treated wood will also react with your aluminum and cause serious corrosion problems (the chemicals in the wood eat the aluminum) or this is what ive been told.

I would recommend a good grade C or better sanded plywood and coat it with epoxy on the bottom and sides and put your paint on the top

3. CountryHart

CountryHart New Member

State:
    missouri
    I have glas, wonder how it would hold up fiberglassed? Also would coated deck screws be okay or should i spend the $$$ for stainless?

4. shadguts

shadguts New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    I agree with the other post. I have used the advantech on several homes and additions and if you've ever toted a peice or too it is quite heavy. What kind of plywood was in there before and how long did it last? Probably better off to just replace it.

5. DH84

DH84 New Member

State:
    Eastern NC