Abu vs. Penn fishing reel

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by CountryHart, Jan 13, 2009.

1. CountryHart

CountryHart New Member

State:
    missouri
    Not entirely sure how to word this but i'll begin by saying i bass fished for years with Abu 5000 reels and never had issues other than an occasional pawl being replaced. I've little experience with bigger one's with the exception of using a friends last year at the Mo. gathering. 8oz. weight and casted like a dream.
    Now for the question, i'm wanting to buy a few reels this spring and want input on Abu, peen or other desent priced baitcasters. I think i want something with a level wind, but not sure if i need a clicker or not. Most of my fishing will be in lakes with occasional trips to rivers.Help me out guys, i'm wanting some tackle big enuff to get er done if the chance happens.

2. Bill in SC

Bill in SC New Member

State:
    South Caro
    100% Abu Garcia here, from 6000 to 6500, but the 7000 is a great choice too.

Bill in SC

3. cathog

cathog New Member

State:
    Lone Oak Texas
    I use both abu and penn. I use my abus for channel cat fishing mainly, and my penns when I target the big blues. Either will do the job but the smaller abus (5500,6500) do not seem to be able to handle the abuse of a whole season of 20+ pound blues. I love my abus and have landed several 20+ pound fish on them though. I think either would be fine depending on your fishing.

4. Mickey

Mickey New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Illinois
    John I will agree with Bill on this one. I like the ABU mentioned and I also like the Penns. I have a 220ld. Either the penns or the abu will do the job. The next question you might want to consider is line capacity and reel weight.

5. jdward

jdward New Member

State:
    Memphis, TN