Abu Garcia Silver Max (controls)

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by goshawk, Sep 21, 2009.

1. goshawk

goshawk New Member

State:
    Georgia
    I'm very new to bait casters and someone gave me a new Abu Garcia Silver max, but the reel did not have a user manual. I have some simple questions

There are four things that can turn on the reel (it's a left hand reel). Obviously the Large handle is to reel in the line and located with that is the drag wheel. Got that.

Next there is the anti-backlash magnet on the opposite side of the reel with a min and max setting. From what I understand that should be adjusted so that the weight of the bait / line is that it should fall slowly. On the opposite side of the magnet control is a round cap looking thing that I believe also controls the spinning of the spool. I am guessing when adjusting the spool, you use the cap like control on the handle side first, then use the magnet control for the fine tweaking of the spool.

Lastly there is a small black knob that seems to be connected to a single bar that passes to the other side of the reel and above the spool. I am guessing that has to do with opening the reel up for lubrication or something.

2. SWeiss

SWeiss New Member

State:
    Pennsylvania
    The anti-backlash magnet you speak of is a centrifugal brake. If you're back lashing BEFORE the bait hits the water on a cast, increase this. The spool is spinning faster than the line can peel off of it. I set mine to about 50% to start with. If you notice casting distance is greatly effected, back off a bit. If you notice the line on the spool looks "loose" during your cast, tighten it up a bit.