Abu Garcia 7000i C3 or Penn 330GT?

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by Hummers4, Aug 30, 2008.

1. Hummers4

Hummers4 New Member

State:
    Virginia
    I'm new to catfishing and need advice on selecting rods. I'll be fishing the James River in Virginia and hear countless stories of 40, 50 & 60#+ cats being caught. I love my bassfishin' Abu 5600C4's and am leaning toward Abu 7000i C3's, but a local tackle shop is suggesting a Penn 330GT's. Any suggestions? Thanks!

2. flathunter

flathunter New Member

State:
    Ohio
    The penn is probably an all around stronger reel than the abu 7000.

But I dont like the penns beacuse I cant cast them very far.

3. JimmyJonny

JimmyJonny Well-Known Member

State:
    sc
    Me personally, I like my Abu 7000's . I think it's gonna just come down to personal choice. Both are great reels and ya can't go wrong with either.....thats for sure. Just get the gear ratio reel your gonna need. I myself don't like to slow of a winching ratio reel. I want something to turn a fish on a dime but yet still need power. My Abu does that for me.

-Jim-

4. Mickey

Mickey New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Illinois
    Bob Welcome to the BOC, from So.Illinois. Both are good reels but the weight of the Penn 330 will be heavier . I like the 7000C3 myself.:0a23::0a25::0a25:

5. OhioRiverCatfisher

OhioRiverCatfisher New Member

State:
    West Virginia
    I vote 7000iC3... I just like Abu, The Penn is nice too...

6. kscathunter

kscathunter New Member

State:
    Louisburg,
    Pflueger contender G30 :wink:

7. catman4926

catman4926 New Member

State:
    Texas
    Bob,