Abu BCX. Dose anyone have any experience with these?

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by Jnagel, Dec 18, 2009.

1. Jnagel

Jnagel New Member

State:
    Illinois.
    I'm looking at buying a pair of abu bcx reels to match up with the tangling with catfish rods i'm ordering. I was wondering if anyone on here has experience with them i'm new to baitcasters and this will be my first set of them, i just dont want to invest in anything thats gonna crap out after a year. Thanks yall.

2. xnmcclurex

xnmcclurex Active Member

State:
    Pittsburgh Pa
    i have one and its not the worst reel i have ever bought but i wont buy another. it doesnt have the torque to pull in big fish. i had trouble bringing in a 10lber.

3. Snagged2

Snagged2 New Member

State:
    Verde Valley AZ
    If you're wanting that size of reel, then my recommendation would be to go ahead and get a 6500 C3 or similar model.
    Some folks have had good experience w/ the BCX, others, throw them in the lake..
    But, IMO, they're not a "lifetime" reel.....but, will work in certain applications.

4. ste6168

ste6168 New Member

State:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I wouldn't buy one. Personally if I were in the market for a cheaper set of baitcasting reels, I would go the Ming Yang route. They are GREAT reels for the money, will catch any (if not more) fish than an Abu (they do have more line capacity), and have no plastic parts. I have one and definetely will purchase more in the future!

edit- If you are a "brand name" only person, then by all means get a Swedish made abu like the C3, not a BCX...

Last edited: Dec 18, 2009
  5. MAX1955

MAX1955 New Member

State:
    KENTUCKY
    They will not hold up, I still can't believe abu even put that reel out. You can get the 6000 for the same price and it will last you a life time. Save your pennies and get the 6500 C3, you won't be disappointed. Its abu all the way with me. :big_smile:

6. Jnagel

Jnagel New Member

State:
    Illinois.