Abu 7000's from Rogers sporting goods

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by kyjake, Oct 20, 2007.

1. kyjake

kyjake New Member

State:
    kentucky
    A few months back several of us ordered Abu 7000's and 9000's from Rogers sporting goods.I chose to order a 9000 instead of 7000.Were these 7000's equipped with bushings or bearings? If they had bushings I would trade my 9000 for one of the 7000's.I do some saltwater fishing and bushings are easier to deal with in the salt environment.I left my new 9000 home when going on a trip to Florida recently and stuck with the old Penn's.
    Jake

2. catfishjon

catfishjon New Member

State:
    texas
    Take that 7000 and don't be afraid to use it in salt water. Rinse it off after every use. I learned from another post to use distilled water as its better. I have been using 7000 size reels for 7 years on the coast and in fresh water with no problems. Catfishjon

3. kyjake

kyjake New Member

State:
    kentucky
    About 25 years ago I took my then favorite reel,an Abu 5000 c that had a clicker to the ocean and both bearings seized up after two weeks so would rather stick with bushings for saltwater as they require less care.I always give both rod and reel a freshwater bath after they have been used in saltwater.
    Jake

4. Douglas Foster

Douglas Foster New Member

State:
    SW Oklahoma
    I bought one of the 7000B's from them on thEbay for $70. It has bushings. I don't want to trade because I really like the green color, but I just checked and they are still selling them for $69.99. Doug

5. xringer3

xringer3 New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    The 7000B that is being sold by Rodgers still has one bearing. It's on the handle crank shaft. That's what makes it the "B" model. It still has bushings on the spool shaft though.

6. kyjake

kyjake New Member

State:
    kentucky
    May go ahead and order the one from Rogers.Is there any model of the 7000
    that has no bearings?
    Jake

7. xringer3