Abu 6500C3 Question

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by BlueZeus, Mar 1, 2006.

1. BlueZeus

BlueZeus New Member

State:
    Ohio
    Hey Everyone, I have a simple question. I'm new to using a baitcaster with a designated clicker and anyway I just purchased a 6500c3 with clicker. The question is once I cast out do I simply turn on the free spool by depressing the button on my right and slide the clicker switch to the on position. I noticed the spool will spin freely and the click sounds. Is this the coreect way of operating this system. I purchased the reel used. I used to own a 5500 baitcaster without a designated clicker so I'm a little new to this style. Thanks to any and all that respond. Bill

2. gottafish

gottafish New Member

State:
    Chesapeake, VA
    Yes, that's the way most use the clicker feature when catfishing. The clicker will alert you when you get a run and will keep the spool from overrunning - usually. In catfishing it's not an issue. Fish aren't moving that fast when they hit.

Be sure and turn it off when you cast.

/Scott

3. catchinghogs

catchinghogs Well-Known Member

State:
    Pennsylvania
    I just got a 6600 c3 and thats the way i think my works also its alot different than the spinning reels im use to but with time I will get the hang of it.

4. BlueZeus

BlueZeus New Member

State:
    Ohio
    I appreciate the quick response guys. I should be able to set my 6500 abu up on a rod somewhere in the 7ft long area. I'm leaning toward the ugly stick cat fish series. Hopefully this will act as a nice rig for years to come.:)

5. bill_gfish

bill_gfish New Member

State:
    st. marys, oh