AAAAAGH! Headache! NEW GUN!

Discussion in 'Guns - Blackpowder' started by Brandon829, Nov 3, 2009.

1. Brandon829

Brandon829 New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    Ok, Since I keep posting questions about guns, I think I"ve narrowed it down to 2. See my wife has given me the ok to get a new gun. Horray for me right, but headache for me as well. I've decided a want a 308. Now here are the 2 that I've narrowed it down to.

Howa Ranchland 308 model #HGR36307DST
    or..............
    Weatherby Vanguard 308 Package

Both guns come with great scopes. I'm just so torn. Does anybody have any experience with these guns or just opinions? I'm pretty much set on 1 of ethier of the 2. Please help!!!!!!!!!

2. jim

jim New Member

State:
    Jacksonville NC
    DO NOT even hesitate ;get the weatherby.I have been shooting weatherby rifles for 50 years and can give you the highest recommendation on the co.and their service.I used to go to their factory once a year with friends to pick out new rifles or shotguns and always received a Christmas Card from them. Spoke to Roy Weatherby a few times also.Are you sure you want a 308?You didnt say what you were going to use it for.

3. Brandon829

Brandon829 New Member

State:
    Kentucky

I'm going to use it for Deer Hunting. I don't think I'll need any shot over 300 yards, but just in case.........

4. Andy52

Andy52 Well-Known Member Supporting Member

State:
    Winfield, Mo.
    This just my take on it. I think the newer weatherby's are made in the U.S., the Howa I don't think is. I have two .308s one Ruger and one T/C....both fine weapons and both made right here in the USA.

5. Flamekeeper

Flamekeeper New Member

State:
    Louisville, Ken
    WHAT Jim said x 10 :wink:

6. kyelkhunter3006

kyelkhunter3006 New Member

State:
    Ky