A night on the lake with "The Man"

Discussion in 'LOCAL MICHIGAN TALK' started by dreamcatcher, May 26, 2006.

1. dreamcatcher

dreamcatcher New Member

Everybody likes a good fish story right? I know I love to be on the water in the middle of the night listening to the old timers talk about all the fish that got away, but every blue moon you run across somebody that has actually caught some of the fish in their stories. I call these men of yore the "local legends" that make the mystery of big catting what it is today. The story I'm about to tell you is about such a person.

My local legend makes his home on Belleville Lake in the summer months.

Belleville Lake is located in the city of Belleville right off of Interstate 94. Personally, I have been fishing there for the last two years for catfish, and I have been blessed to catch my fair share of eating size cats. During the times that I have graced the shoreline I have always been entertained by people telling me stories of the "man" that fishes for the big cats. Now being a cat conneisseur myself, I find myself gripped by these tall tales of catfish breaking off line, pulling rigs in the water, and so forth. I willingly go on the ride, because it's entertaining, albeit in my mind a little over exaggerated. Every time the stories are told they all funnel back to this "guy" that I've never met. It had gotten to the point to where I just sort of wrote it off in my mind, because the odds of me running into this person was as good as sharing a campfire with a Yeti.