A little help please with flathead catfish

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by thecatman, Nov 21, 2005.

1. thecatman

thecatman New Member

State:
    Graham, Texas,
    hey guys ive been catfishing for about 14 years now but i have only really targetted channels and now that i have some rods capable of pulling in a hefty flathead i was wondering what baits are good to use and where to look for these monsters at i know the area around me so finding the flatheads shouldnt be a problem once i know what im looking for. thanks for any help you can provide guys

2. dafin

dafin New Member

State:
    Manhattan,Kan
    Are you fishing a river or lake? For bait i would use live shad , bluegills, gold fish etc. I lakes i fish drop offs, old river channels, points and in the timber if there is any. In the river i fish sand bars, log jams , back currents and cut banks.

3. LilRyjoe04

LilRyjoe04 New Member

State:
    Indianapolis,Indiana
    Welcome to the BOC Brandon! I couldn't have said it any better than Dafin! Live baitfish are the way to go to catch these monsters! You might want to try large blue gills, shad, or even bass 7-12 inches long! Make sure that you have some heavy duty line and a rod that can handle a monster! Look for cover, logs are perfect places for big flatties! Anywhere you wouldn't normally fish because of snags is usually a good spot to catch the big mama! Good Luck and C.P.R. (Catch,Photo,and Release) on all cats over ten pounds. That way you can catch em when they get to 100 pounds!lol ;)

4. Ol Whiskers

Ol Whiskers New Member

State:
    Fairfield Township, Ohio