A bunch of questions? - I need basic catfishing sucess tactics!

Discussion in 'Channel Catfish' started by durben, Apr 16, 2006.

1. durben

durben New Member

State:
    ohio
    Ive been fishing for cats for about 6 years and i know the lake i fish at has big cats, but does it matter when u go fishing on the weather, and the moon or is it if you know where theyre at?I also would like to know when do u know whether to fish deep or shallow?when is the best time to catfish late evening , day , or after midnight? For the really big cats what is a good bait,will chicken liver catch the big cat?

2. flathunter

flathunter New Member

State:
    Ohio
    Fresh cut bait for big channels, preferably shad...I have my best luck from 8pm-till midnight...I fish deeper water in the daytime, and shallow water at night.

3. Kentucky Boy

Kentucky Boy New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    I agree with the last guy, I normally do best from dusk until midnight or 0100. I never see any difference in the moon or any of that, but right before a shower the fish seem to know that the bugs will be getting washed into the water and will come shallow and around the edges to feed. I have had good luck with chicken liver, and its my personal favorite get anywhere bait, but for channel cats I have had good luck with crawdads.

4. LarryW

LarryW New Member

State:
    Abbeville Louisiana
    First off, welcome to the BOC Mike. I know you will enjoy this site and find a lot of information here.