90hp mercury problem

Discussion in 'Bubba's Outboards' started by shadguts, Jul 25, 2007.

1. shadguts

shadguts New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    I have a 1978 mercury 90hp. The engine pushes water out around the gaskets on the side of the engine and around the top sparkplug hole. I ran a compression test on all cyl and the top was 130 and the rest were 155. I assummed that the cylinder was cracked but after pulling the head i can not find any cracks or holes of any kind. I dont see any evidence of one either. I am new to these outboards so I dont know where else to look for the problem. Any help would be appreciated.

2. Bubbakat

Bubbakat New Member

State:
    McMinnvill
    Clean those heads and exhaust plate good and replace with good gaskets.
    When an engine gets a little age on it and it sets even for a short while its not uncommon for it to blow a gasket.
    While you have the cap off clean that water jacket good and go ahead and install a new water pump. I have a feeling that motor has been overheated at one time.
    If you don't have the manuel you need to get one. I'll see if I can find the torque specs for you.

3. shadguts

shadguts New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    Thanks Bubbacat. Can you recommend a brand of repair manual. I have heard of and used clymer but what about sepec? I think that is spelt right.

4. Bubbakat

Bubbakat New Member

State:
    McMinnvill
    I like the orignal shop manuel but they are pricey but as for the others I would get a seloc for that specfic year and motor

5. shadguts

shadguts New Member

State:
    Tennessee