798ci NVB bundle or not????

Discussion in 'Fish Finder Review and Study' started by Big M, Jan 1, 2009.

1. Big M

Big M New Member

State:
    Pa
    :confused2:Hello All! I am brand new to this forum, and I have a question.....I have a 10% off coupon for ebay that is good till January 2nd, midnight, Pacific time. I want to get a 798ci (internal antenna). I decided on this because if later I feel I need the external, I can upgrade. This is a brand new model, which I do not think there is a such thing as a refurbished one yet. I am very new to fishfinders in general, and after many hours of research, I am stuck on one last detail. Should I get the nvb bundle or not.
    For starters, I have no idea if it is one thing you would normally purchase in one chip from navionics, or if the navionics gold, and hotmaps premium are two separate things. I can get this brand new, not refurbished for about 829.00, and for 1009.00 with the bundle, after the 10% off. I don't know if the navionics is of any benefit to me, being that I normally fish small lakes in pennsylvania. ICan anyone help me decide before tomorrow? I am worried that if I get the preloaded nvb bundle, I may not be able to upgrade if necessary, But if it is on a separate chip, will it run slower, or can you load it off the sd card. This new model has two sd slots, so will it even matter? I am all screwed up on this! Thanks in advance for any help.
    MIKE

2. GaryF

GaryF New Member

State:
    O.P., KS
    Mike

Welcome to the BOC! I bought a 797C2I last year, and had to make the same decision on the NVB. Basically with NVB you get the Navionics Gold and Hotmaps Premium built in the unit, coverage for the entire country. If you opt not to buy the NVB package, you can buy the maps, in the form of an SD card, by region, for something like $149 per region. In the 797, this card would take up the only available slot, which is a bummer. If the 798 has 2 slots, I would say that that is a nice improvement.