6500 vs 7000?

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by BenNewt, Sep 21, 2009.

1. BenNewt

BenNewt New Member

State:
    Minnesota
    I'm thinking of purchasing a new rod and reel combo for next year. I've been using my 6500 C3 for 15 years or so, put it through hell, sand, mud, and shad slime, and the thing still works like new. Alot of catters seem to go with a 7000 over the 6500. I know with the old heavy dacron lines, line capacity used to be an issue, but no more with the superlines. I use 65lb PP for flats and it handles just fine. Any thoughts on why I should look at a 7000 over a new 6500? Thanks!

2. bedbug jr

bedbug jr New Member

State:
    Missouri
    Hello Ben and welcome to the BOC. I use both the 6500c3's and the 7000ics PR's and love them both. You say you use PP and that's great, but if you ever decide to go with mono the 7000's will give you greater line and weight capacity. Both are great reels and it comes down to preference for fishing conditions. You can't go wrong with either. Stay safe and stick a pig!!!:wink:

3. Iowa_Josh

Iowa_Josh New Member

State:
    Central Iowa
    6500's really aren't made for that heavy of like. If you have one that old you can put new drag washers in it and make it more substantial if you haven't already. 7000's you can run 40# mono and there are times for that. The stock drag is somewhat better and the clicker is a lot stiffer. The clicker alone is why a lot of people choose them, I think.. Don't go less than 80# spectra and you can thank me later. When you get in a snag and there's no choice but to heave, you want the right stuff. It'll pay off. J

4. BenNewt

BenNewt New Member

State:
    Minnesota