6500 C4's

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by TexasCatfish, Mar 23, 2006.

1. TexasCatfish

TexasCatfish New Member

State:
    Texas
    I have heard a lot of bad talk about these reels. Some say that because of the gear ratios they're not suited for catching big fish. Has anyone ever had problems with this, and do you think and/or if they can hold their own against the big boys?

2. Whistler

Whistler Well-Known Member

State:
    TN
    I have one now and though I haven't caught any real big fish on it yet, I have no doubts that it's gonna do the job. I'll say this for it. I've been a spinning reel user most of my life and just recently starting using baitcasters. I have a Penn 310, a Ambassadeur 6000 and the new 6500. It's the smoothest casting and retrieving one of the bunch. Very nice and well built reels in my opinion. That said, there is no comparison between it and my Penn reel. That Penn is made for catching big fish and don't let anyone fool you, it will cast too. Both good reels, but the Penn is the stronger built of the two. Just my opinion.

3. poopdeck [patrick]

poopdeck [patrick] New Member

State:
    ofallon il
    The 6500 is a fine reel and will haul in the big boys. How ever since the 7000 came out I consider the 6500 obsolete.

4. BlueZeus

BlueZeus New Member

State:
    Ohio
    I fairly new to using a baitcaster but based on what I've researched the 6500 series reels are excellent. I recently purchased a 6500c3 and it has been added to my 8' Ugly Cat rod MH. I Love this combo. Anyway I seemed to have gone of the beaten path. I enjoy the Abu Garcia 6500 series. I would think that a 6500C3 or C4 will handle any freshwater fish you should encounter. :)

5. Ryan

Ryan New Member

State:
    Crystal, Minnesota