6 new rod holders coming Were to put on Bass tracker

Discussion in 'MONSTER ROD HOLDERS' started by GrandpaGoneFishing, Aug 9, 2009.

1. GrandpaGoneFishing

GrandpaGoneFishing New Member

State:
    Linn Valley, Ks
    I ordered 6 Monster rod Holders Friday. 3 - 45s and 3 -0s. I mostly fish for cats but I like to troll also. I'm still new to boating got a bass tracker 175 txw and wanted to ask for some advise on placements. Thanks for any advise.
    :0a22:​

2. ccat

ccat Well-Known Member

State:
    Fayetteville Ar
    You will want to mount those rod holders where they will benefit your style of fishing. If you are anchoring for cats, (anchoring front and back) you might want to put the 45's in the back. Just remember a lot of cat boats, mine included, have a bar across the back to keep the rod holders raised up and easier (and safer) to get to when picking up on a rod.
    I think your boat is set up like a decked bass boat. If so, you probably wouldn't want to mount the back holders on the back or even close to the very back on the sides, as you will be bending down to pick up a rod....which might be unsafe if the boat rocks to the side. I have known of people falling or slipping out of boats when bending down to pick up rods mounted too low to the deck.
    Maybe you could mount the "back" holders closer to the driver and passenger seats, so you could be standing in the bottom of the boat when picking up the rods.
    Hope this helps....keep us posted

3. GrandpaGoneFishing

State:
    Linn Valley, Ks
    Very good point chris, Had not thought of that. Reps to ya

4. CountryHart

CountryHart New Member

State:
    missouri