5 hp. Montgomery Wards Sea King

Discussion in 'Bubba's Outboards' started by moondog58, Aug 6, 2009.

1. moondog58

moondog58 New Member

State:
    West Virginia
    I am not the most mechanically inclined person on this site. So, I ask for your help. PLEASE.

I am by no means inept at fixing things, I change my own oil, do a lot of electrical work, even helped build an electric car. But I am no a mechanic. So:

I have a 5 hp. Montgomery Wards Sea King outboard motor. My dad bought it in 1971, I think. It has a few hours on it, not a lot, we used it till about 1981, then it sat in his outbuilding till 2002. It was used maybe 5 to 10 time a summer for a few hard days, that was it. Model # J50011060, serial #375871 made by Clinton Engine Co.

I got it in 2002, cleaned it up a bit and got it to running. It ran ok, not great, but ok till late in the summer of '05 when it just would not start. I tried a couple of things, nothing worked. I put it in the back of my garage and there it sits today. Even when it was running back in '03 and '04, it didn't run good. I would never run wide open. It would troll ok and run up to about half throttle but when you tried to open it up it would flood out.

I can't really remember, but it seems that it never ran really well for my dad. Not sure.

I don't have a big boat for it to push. I just have a 12 ft. aluminum jon boat. I have a nice electric trolling motor that I use now, but I would like to get he outboard motor running.

Any ideas on what might be wrong with it?

I found a Honda 2 hp. outboard motor on craigslist in Morgantown or $500. I wonder if it would be better to buy this or try and get my old 5 hp. Sea King running?

2. Cutbait101

Cutbait101 New Member

State:
    south carolina
    i would clean the carb,put a new sparkplug in and check to see if it is firing.then give it a try.if it still does not run check the compression. good luck.

3. 1sporticus

1sporticus Active Member

State:
    Iowa