37 Lb, 40 Inch Potomac Blue, My New Personal Best

Discussion in 'Blue Catfishing' started by Rivercat09, Aug 6, 2007.

1. Rivercat09

Rivercat09 New Member

State:
    Maryland
    I’ve been fishing for channel cats with quite a bit of success for many years, but have only been targeting the big Potomac blues with cut and live bait for about a year. I’ve boated a couple in the teens, and lost a rather large one late last season. On only my third real attempt this season at targeting big blues last Thursday night, I caught my PB. I’m a rookie blue catter, and can’t hold a candle to many of you guys, but here goes:

Thursday was a very slow night on the river in the canoe to say the very least. My buddy and I caught only four fish between the two of us, two fish each. Conditions were not ideal, with the wind blowing out of the south at 10 to 15 MPH and a front coming through. We were live lining bluegills, and fishing frozen cut white perch and livers.

We fished Smoot’s Bay, The Spoils above the Wilson Bridge, and ended up at Fox Ferry. We started fishing at about 6:30 PM, and I was skunked until about 9:45 when I managed to catch a 2 lb channel on livers at Fox Ferry.

About 20 minutes after we got to the spoils, my buddy’s medium-heavy cat rod started to sing. We soon realized that he was onto something big, as the fish made several drag peeling runs. As soon as I spotted the huge fish adjacent to the boat, I easily slipped the trophy net under him ant he was boated. The fish weighed in at an impressive 19 pounds. The beast took a piece of the frozen cut white perch. He was released without incident.