351 Windsor

Discussion in 'Other Repairs' started by chris45601, Aug 1, 2006.

1. chris45601

chris45601 New Member

State:
    ohio
    Ok, I'm a ricer mechanic and run a amature speed shop out of my buddies garage, I do motor swaps all the time (sr20dets,b16'sand etc.) well i have a 1987 ford thunderbird with the 4.6 (fake 5.0) and i want to swap a 351 with it because in the 4.6 the rods are knocking and have been for about 2 years now. I'm just wonder will i have to put the c3-c4 automatic tranny or will the old thunderchickens tranny hold up ? I'm sure the motor mounts, ECU and etc will have to be changed but let me know other wise brothers

2. Moon Cat

Moon Cat New Member

State:
    Upper Marlboro, Maryland
    I dont know call a salvage yard they should know.

3. Bubbakat

Bubbakat New Member

State:
    McMinnvill
    The old thunder chicken tranny will hold up if you will do a little modification to it. Needs a cooler and a shift kit and drill it out so it will shift at higher r's that way it doesn't over heat it.

4. Rookie12

Rookie12 New Member

State:
    Kannapolis, NC
    I didn't think that Frod went to the 4.6 engine until the early 90's. I would have thought that an '87 would have a 5.0 in it. Correct me if I'm wrong, but that car should have come with a 5.0

5. 1 fishingfool

1 fishingfool New Member

State:
    il
    I think they did not put a 4.6 in them until 90 or 91 you would be better with a fmx trans.Yes you will have to change the mounts and comp. exhst. and so forth is the car in that good of shape?

6. trnsmsn

trnsmsn New Member

State:
    Missouri Originally Now I
    They did not come out with a 4.6 Litre engine in that year & even if you have a 5.0 Litre, the 351 Windsor uses a different bellhousing pattern. The 351 Cleveland is the same but try & put your hands on one:roll_eyes: .