.300 Remington Ultra Mag

Discussion in 'Hunting Gear Talk' started by xringer3, Feb 24, 2008.

1. xringer3

xringer3 New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    Hey Yawl! I hope this is the right place to post this. I've just picked up a Rem. 700BDL in the 300 Remington Ultra Mag. I shot one years ago but had a chance on this one at a really great price at a gun show. I'm going to Colorado to hunt either (or both) elk to antelope. I know the lighter bullets are extremely flat and the heavier bullets kill on one end and mame on the other, LOL.

I was wondering what experience people on here have with this cartridge and what's worked best for them. I'd also like to hear from people who've reloaded this cartridge and if there's any tricks or things to watch out for when loading it. I've been reloading for almost 30 years from pistol to magnum rifle. I'm just interested in other peoples experties and experiences with it. Also finally got me my Marlin 1895CB with the long octagonal barrel in 45/70. That's the one I can't wait to play with. I think I've got Colorado covered!

Thanks in advance.

2. smokeeater3302

smokeeater3302 New Member

State:
    il
    I think that you can handle anything that comes your way . With a good bullet selection , I think that you could hunt from here to Africa

3. chambers bd

chambers bd New Member

State:
    Sautee,Geo
    Hey guy,

great weapon, i got a 300 weatherby mag they are close, 150 grain for deer, go up in weight for bigger animals. 180 grain are great.
    go up to 200 grain or better is for beast's big bears

welcome to mag land:wink:

4. plainsman

plainsman New Member Supporting Member

State:
    minnesota