22 shot cartriges and guns.

Discussion in 'Hunting Gear Talk' started by bootshowl, Jan 27, 2008.

1. bootshowl

bootshowl New Member

State:
    Indiana, J
    I was wondering for some feedback on the 22 and shot shells. Lil things for the garden/pest control. I have no experience. But I remember reading several articles about smoothbore 22's that were popular at times past. I know speer makes shotshell 22 with the plastic caps to hold the load of tiny pellets, but federal evidently makes a crimped version also. What's the skinney on shooting these out of rifled barrels? Hurt the bore any?
    A buddy ask me to an indoor shoot, American Legion, & they use 22 rifles with the crimped federal shot loads at lil targets at 16 feet range. Indoor turkey shoot! Sounds like a hoot, but wondered if any damage to rifled bores & if anyone still mfg's. smoothbore 22's. Thanks.

2. flaboy

flaboy New Member

State:
    Wedgefield, SC
    I'm no expert, but shootin #12 shot (crimped) outta a 22, I can't imagine anything other than fowling the barrel. dummies like me would just shoot a coupla rem. copperclad rounds to cleat the bore.:big_smile:

I know that ain't the proper way, just my way:smile2::tounge_out:

3. catfishscotty

catfishscotty Well-Known Member

State:
    mo
    well for pest control after living on a farm from a child then moving to town where we had to put the trash on the curb for the trash truck to pick up once a week well after having the trash cans knocked over from dogs, possums,coons and leaving a big mess . being the red neck that i am thought it would be fun to shoot them with the paint ball guns sence i couldnt shoot a 22 or shotgun in town. it was fun shooting the critters with all different colors and the dogs didnt take too many times of that my problem was over. man did them dogs yelp lol.:eek:oooh:

4. catfishcrazy256

catfishcrazy256 New Member

State:
    Indiana
    i have did it and didnt seem to hurt anything

5. olefin

olefin New Member