20 Hours, 1 New PB

Discussion in 'Carp Fishing' started by mcwrestler, Jun 23, 2009.

1. mcwrestler

mcwrestler New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    Since I graduated from college I have spent my free time (Time that I am not searching for employment) looking for new spots and revisiting old ones. During a recent trip I fished a pond that is tougher than I ever imagined. Clear water and smart, smart fish. Not to mention the added challenge of locals snagging in my baited area. As I approached the water for the first time I could tell the fish were many and amazing. I first tried on Friday, arrived at around 9 in the morning and fished until 7 without a fish landed and only one run. The snaggers were causing major hassles. Hard to catch fish that are running from a hook. Not to mention I did not know what to do. I tried all sorts of packs and flavors but nothing was to work. I went elsewhere on the next couple days but revisited on Monday for one last attempt before heading back home. I arrived early again. This time the weather was rainy and storms had been coming through, no kids will snag in that weather, however I was content with it. I spotted my quarry and decided I was going to freeline sweetcorn within 3 feet of the bank, settle down and play the waiting game. The group of orange and black Koi had found my offerings and I watched them begin to feed. Sizes ranged from what I would guess to be 7 all the way up to a brute that would near 20. I saw a hungry pair of lips hover over and take up my hook bait. I watched it move its mouth a few times then I set into him with my 10ft crappie rod and the battle ensued. As I fought the fish the onlookers gathered to see what it would be. Once netted a kind lady helped me out with some pictures and holding the net with the fish in the water while I got situated (I had only been out the 40 minutes). Her grandson was in awe of the fish, as was I. My scales read 11lbs after the sling had been taken off and the fish would be