1994 ford f-150 sluggish throttle

Discussion in '4X4 Truck Talk and Repairs' started by rocko, Jul 23, 2007.

1. rocko

rocko New Member

State:
    missouri
    well lets just start with everything i have replaced. fuel and air filter, plugs wires, cap, rotor, the basics....... engine is running like crap, rough idle, jerky shift points while driving, push the pedal and no go. engine temp is a lot higher than normal.also found oil coming from out of the crankcase relief tube and going into the throttle body, check engine light comes on every once in a while when it is really running bad, but goes back off. im thinking it may be the catalytic converters are blocked.but im not a mechanic. the engine is a 302 ci fuel injected with 110xxx miles nothing overhauled or replaced.the trans is auto e4od and i have had a problem with it yet:embarassed: but i know the time is coming for another backyard rebuild, i heard that particular trans doubles as a boat anchor. if anybody has any insight let me know.

2. jason454ci

jason454ci Active Member

State:
    Zanesville, Ohi
    Sounds to me that it may be a plugged converter. Take the exhaust loose at the manifolds and take it for a real short trip and see if it is better. You can also have someone rev it up high real quick while you feel the tailpipe to see if there is a restriction in the exhaust. Could also be a weak fuel pump. You would need to put a fuel pressure gauge on it to check that for sure.

3. dmartin

dmartin New Member

State:
    Alabma
    Same as Jason converter

4. rocko

rocko New Member

State:
    missouri