1986 Mercury 50 HP Starting Problem

Discussion in 'Bubba's Outboards' started by CatHunter24, Apr 12, 2009.

1. CatHunter24

CatHunter24 New Member

State:
    Dayton, Ohio
    Took my boat out for the first time yesterday, and I am new to this so not real sure what is going on. The motor will start in the throttle only position and pretty easily..i would of course back the rpms down as soon as it started. But it did not fire up in neutral, wouldnt turn over and I was using the electric choke. I did not try to get her turned over in neutral on the way in because it was getting dark and i was in a hurry, so i did the method that was working. The motor was running a lot better at the end of the day, it had not been ran in 3-5 years so i think the carb was gummed up or the fuel in the line was old. I have had a few guys suggest cleaning the carb, or that it may have worked itself out after running new gas through it. I also have been told that may i need to adjust the carb to make it richer to fire up in neutral or to adjust the timing to get it to turn over. Any ideas and suggestions would be welcome.

2. CatHunter24

CatHunter24 New Member

State:
    Dayton, Ohio
    forgot to mention its a 2 stroke, 3 cyl...

3. catfishcatcher

catfishcatcher New Member

State:
    indiana
    I would have the carb cleaned along with changing the spark plug and filter. Remove the old gas and remix new in. Also when you are done for the day while the boat is on the trailer remove the fuel line on the motor while the motor is running. This will run out all gas from the engine and prevent the gas from gumming up the carb. Good luck.

4. Laker2

Laker2 New Member

State:
    Illinois