1979 chrysler thermostat

Discussion in 'Bubba's Outboards' started by Okccatman, Jan 28, 2006.

1. Okccatman

Okccatman New Member

State:
    Norman,Ok
    Got a question for you.
    I have a 1979 chrysler 155hp. I have done a few repairs to get it in good running order. But now I am having a problem with the thermostat or the impeller.
    I'll start off with the fact that I am a layman when it comes to outboards but I am pretty mechanical. And I do not have a manual for this motor. With that being said can you advise on how to test a thermostat. And also... is the thermostat on a 1975 55HP chrysler interchangable with this motor? I have a paperweight...I mean a 55hp that is a rebuildable/parts motor that is collecting dust.
    Thank you in advance.
    David Frantz

2. Bobpaul

Bobpaul New Member

State:
    Supply NC
    A thermostat can be tested by submerging it in water with a thermometer that'll read up towards the boiling point, 212 deg's at sea level. A candy thermometer will work. Don't let it touch the bottom of the pan.

Put it on the stove in a pot of water and turn on the heat. Watch to see if it opens and at what temp. Should be near the 190 deg mark.

I can't say for sure if the two thermostats are interchangeable, but you can compare sizes to see if they look alike and they might be.

My guess would be the impellor first. Possibly both.

3. Bubbakat

Bubbakat New Member

State:
    McMinnvill
    David I would have to have the serial number off both engines to compare the T-stat compatibility. In the years they made those engines they would change one letter in the number and then change some small part to correlate to that.
    With that jargon said. Test the t-stat and make you a new gasket if it is okay and seal it and reinstall.
    I would do as bobpaul said I would replace the water pump.

4. Okccatman

Okccatman New Member

State:
    Norman,Ok
    OK Willard. Here are the numbers for both motors.
    The 1979 115 HP.....