12' Jon Boat, is it dangerous for larger people?

Discussion in 'Boating' started by CatFighter, Jul 20, 2009.

1. CatFighter

CatFighter New Member

State:
    Morgantown, WV
    Hello - I'm looking to get a Jon boat for small lake/river fishing. Mostly I'm interested in getting one where I fish relatively close to shore w/out having to deal with people yelling at me for trespassing (whether or not they are the owners, it seldom stops people from putting "PRIVATE PROPERTY" signs all over the place if they know the owners aren't paying attention to their land).

So, I was thinking about a used 12' jon boat, mostly because I want something I can throw on top of my 4Runner (160lb carrying capacity on the roof rack).

The problem is this: I'm a big guy, and I foresee carrying something like 500lbs in the boat including myself, my dad, and gear.

I have been fishing from canoes for about 20 years, including bow-fishing [while standing] from a canoe, so I'm not overly concerned about stability, but I don't want to buy something that is dangerous . . . at least not more dangerous than a canoe :eek:oooh:.

And I don't know if a 14' will go on top of my 4Runner . . . .

What do you boat guys think? Do you suggest a certain brand or transom height? I'm also interested in flat bottom, since I'm planning on landing on muddy banks.

thanks for the help in advance!!

2. Catmanblues

Catmanblues New Member

State:
    S.E Ohio
    You'll be just fine from where an what you want to do as far as fishing with this size of boat.

3. justwannano

justwannano Active Member

State:
    SE Iowa
    I once had a 14/36 jon boat and it scared me. I now have a 14/48 and it is stable enough that you could probably stand on the sides and still not tip it.
    That being said, if you are used to standing up in a canoe that jon should be stable enough for you.
    Check the legal seating capacity of the boat,thats average sized people,--whatever that is-- and make your own decision.