Need turkey shoot advice.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Danny
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Need turkey shoot advice.

I would like to try a turkey shoot. I just got a browning 12 ga. silver hunter and would like advice on how to practice.

How far away should target be and what height?

what shot size?

What choke is best?

and anything else I should know.

Thanks Guys

Danny

Chris Love

Post Thanks / Like

Take a AA MAG lite and drop it down the barrel and tape it. Adjust the beam where the light is focused at its tightest postion, then turn you light on, Make a mark on the wall and practice your mounting your shot gun in your shoulder. The light will show you exactly where you will be when you mount. I will post more about this. This will also work for 20 guage too, you will have to use the AAA battery MAG lite.

Chris

Danny
    Post Thanks / Like

Thanks Chris, I have been shooting shotguns for over 40 years I just have never seen a turkey shoot.

Danny

Chris Love

Post Thanks / Like

Turkey shots are a blast, you'll meet lots of nice people and lots of shooting advice. Most people use an OPEN choke, since you dont need a real tight pattern.

chris

Bob Gilvary

Post Thanks / Like

You'll find some folks take their turkey shoots real seriously. They'll have worked over barrels that'll put most of the shot on the target at 25 yds.

Rex Reynolds
    Post Thanks / Like