SHOTGUNS FOR DOVE HUNTING

Luke Clayton
    Post Thanks / Like

Default SHOTGUNS FOR DOVE HUNTING

"SHOTGUNS FOR DOVE HUNTING" by Luke Clayton

Luke Clayton

As a youngster learning to hunt upland birds back in the sixties, I grew up in the school of thought that a man shoots a 12 gauge, period. In the circles where I learned to hunt and shoot, those little 20 gauges were for kids and ladies. As a result of this mind set, I found myself packing an old ill fitting 12 gauge pump at a time when my age and size was much better suited for a lighter 20 gauge with a whole lot less ‘kick’.

Shotguns, just like golf clubs, are made for specific purposes. Not that I am a golf expert, truthfully, I do well to shoot par at the miniature version of the game, but I know one doesn’t use a putter to move the ball a couple hundred yards down the green, but neither do most folks pack a 10 gauge waterfowl shotgun on dove hunts. A quarter century ago, I learned that a 20 gauge is what many, including myself, consider to be the perfect gauge shotgun for almost all upland shooting, with the exception of late seasons pheasants that are known for flushing well ahead of the dog, here a 12 gauge with a heavy load of #5 shot is in order.

I remember hunting with a gentleman back in the seventies that was a lifelong quail hunter. He kept a kennel of no less than 8 pointers and setters and they were all good dogs. A lease I was hunting up in Jack County, Texas for deer was overrun with quail and my older buddy offered the services of his dogs to help thin their numbers. He packed a slim little O/U 20 gauge and I, of course, was still shooting a heavy 12 gauge. He let me use the little shotgun and I soon learned I could kill as many quail with it, possibly more, than I could with a shotgun that was much better suited for waterfowl shooting! At the time, my budget simply did not warrant purchasing a firearm that cost about three times our monthly house payment.