Trot Lines

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trot Lines

Gus

Post Thanks / Like

Default Trot Lines

Would you recommend setting up a trotline off of a kayak. Any suggestions on when to put one I am kinda still kinda new to fresh water fishing and have a lake 6 miles away with some nice cats. Please advise

Jerry Trew
    Post Thanks / Like

I assume you're talking about a fiberglass kayak, right? Cuz I saw a couple of young guys (that I didn't expect to get any older) running some trotlines from a plastic blow-up kayak. I tried to keep an eye on them, expecting to have to rescue them at any time, but somehow they managed to keep from getting a hole in it and sinking. I see no reason why you couldn't run a trotline from a real kayak, but you'd have to make some well thought out plans for landing, handling, and keeping your fish. For instance, how are you going to land a 20# blue? If you try to lift it, you'll turn over, won't you? Maybe some kind of flying gaff so you can just tow it in to shore?

john fisher
    Post Thanks / Like

You may want to consider tieing "Throw Lines" off the bank. Like the gentleman from little rock stated, landing a 20 pounder mite get a bit hairy for ya. I have limblined from a canoe in the deep holes of the creeks here but always felt like i was just one move away from being wet.

Gus

Post Thanks / Like

Throw lines and Flying gaff? Guys Im sorry for the dumb questions I honestly dont know what these things are. I figured I would beat the head are with a small pipe to stabilize the fish before bringing it onboard.:ooooh:

I have a solid plastic kayak not inflatable so no worries there. I would need to get the drill or go extremely fast right into a rock.

Any other suggestions would greatly be appreciated.

Erik
    Post Thanks / Like